Glitter

Why does glitter make everything more fabulous?

I used to really dislike glitter. I’ve always enjoyed arts and crafts and I think that glitter just bothered me. I didn’t like that glitter made every project look like it was made in elementary school and I didn’t like that it clumped everywhere even if you only used a bit of glue. I hated glitter. I associated it with things that looked cheap or were made by children.

Then, I realized that there was another type of glitter. Glitter that was made from tiny pieces and looked almost delicate.

This type of glitter is found on Christmas cards and crafts made by adults. It doesn’t clump on rivers of glue and the pieces are so tiny the glitter can be used in more detailed projects. I can understand why this glitter is used mostly by adults. The tiny pieces that make this glitter are almost impossible to ever remove from somewhere. This glitter will be with you forever. You can’t even vacuum it, sometimes. This is the glitter I love.

Glitter makes everything magical. It offers a suggestion of sparkle and a touch of light. I associate glitter with special moments, like the glitter on a birthday card or covering a Christmas ornament. Since this type of glitter is so similar to powder, I don’t even try to clean it. I leave it everywhere, within reason. My husband has just accepted that Christmas at our house means glitter everywhere. I buy ribbons and cards covered in glitter. I love how it catches the light, making my everyday world sparkle. Now, when I see a bit of glitter hiding somewhere in June, I think of birthday cards and Christmas.

Leave a Reply

